Log in

Educators of the Year

Each year, the members of the IDEA Executive Board approve the winners of several awards that are designed to recognize the outstanding efforts of IDEA members. The IDEA Technology Educator of the Year program honors current IDEA members who have made outstanding contributions integrating technology in education. The award is specifically designed to recognize IDEA Educators at all experience levels—from the beginner to the advanced user.

There are two categories for the annual Educator of the Year awards:

  • IDEA Educator of the Year Award - K-12 Classroom teachers
  • IDEA Outstanding Technology Using Educator Award - Media Specialists, technology coordinators and coaches, school administrators, and college and university faculty

Nominations are reviewed by the IDEA Awards Committee. The final selections are recommended to the IDEA Executive Board for confirmation.

The Educator of the Year Awards will be presented at the annual conference, IDEAcon, at the The Renaissance Convention Center in Schaumburg, IL on February 24-27, 2020. Each award winner will receive a commemorative plaque and a complimentary 3-day general conference registration for the upcoming conference.

Applications will be acknowledged upon receipt. If you have any questions, please contact our Awards Co-Chairs Eric Hansen and Lisa Bergoff atawards@ideaillinois.org.

Recent Educators of the Year

2019 Teacher Category

Dr. John Beerbower, Ed.D.

Assistant Divisional Chair
Director of Strength & Conditioning

McHenry District 156

Past Honorees - Teacher Category

  • Darcy O'Connor, 2018
  • Shannon Schroeder, 2017
  • Maggie Maslowski, 2016
  • Michael Biondo, 2015
  • Paul A. Solarz, 2014
  • Robert M. Lightfoot, 2013
  • Josh Stumpenhorst, 2012
  • Anthony Reibel, 2011

  • Laurelle Lonze Stuart, 2010

  • Melissa Gosche, 2009

  • Christy Marchessault, 2008

  • Diane Goerlitz, 2007

  • Jeff Doles, 2006

  • Brian Schultz, 2005

  • Susan Homes, 2004

  • Joe Brennan, 2003

  • Bob Shaw, 2002

2019 Technology Using Educator Category

Jennifer Waldvogel

Teacher on Special Assignment for Technology Integration

Yorkville District 115

Past Honorees - Technology Using Educator Category

  • Sheila M. Ruh, 2018

  • Lee Cook, 2017

  • Jennifer M. Smith, 2016

  • Phil Hintz, 2015

  • Marisa Burkhart, 2014

  • Lisa Perez, 2013

  • Ben Grey, 2012

  • Jay Blackman, 2011

  • Christopher Brown, 2010

  • Teri Rossman, 2009

  • Kate Isabelli, 2008

  • Charlene Chausis, 2007

  • Judith Satkiewicz, 2006

  • Marianne Fedak, 2005

  • Cheri Pinchot, 2004

©2019 Illinois Digital Educators Alliance. All rights reserved.

Email: info@ideaillinois.org
Call: 630 628 1088

2705 McDonough St
Joliet, Illinois 60436

Upcoming Events

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software