Log in

Tales from the Classroom... Introducing the IDEA Authors Book Series

March 18, 2020 10:39 AM | Anonymous

If you were at IDEAcon this year, you saw us introduce our new IDEA Authors book series. The books were such a hit at the conference, we had to reprint and replenish our stock before offering it to everyone else! But now we’re ready to brag about our authors.

Last year, Illinois Digital Educators Alliance invited its members to share stories about how they were making a difference in education. Their stories resulted in the creation of three books including: IDEAs to Inspire your Classroom, IDEAs to Transform your Classroom, and IDEAs to Connect your Classroom.

Edited by IDEAcon featured speaker, Robert Dillon, the series tells how educators in Illinois inspire their students, transform their environment, and connect with other educators and classrooms around the world. Forty-four authors are highlighted. Student writers provided a foreword for each book.

In IDEAs to Inspire your Classroom, you’ll be inspired by Jennifer Smith designing science as a verb, Billy Spicer outlining the growing power of esports, and Michael Earnshaw sharing dad’s advice.

In IDEAs to Transform your Classroom, you’ll hear how small moments have transformational power, as seen when Matt Meyer finds guidance from his ten-year old self, Michael Kosko shows the power of growing with his students, and Megan Hacholski designs space for learning.

IDEAs to Connect your Classroom brings together many ideas. Jeremy Rinkel connects us to a healthy digital life, Drew Witherell shows the power of connecting through instructional coaching, and Stephanie Suklow looks at connecting teachers through social media.

These are just a few of the many stories that can be found in the new IDEA Authors series. Books are now available for purchase online at www.ideaillinois.org/IDEA-Authors.

Congratulations to all of the authors that participated in this IDEA Authors project including:

IDEAs to Inspire your Classroom

Renee Bogacz, Michael Earnshaw, Jennifer Egget, Nancy Gadzala, Jessica Green, Mia Gutsell, Kim Knigge, Jason Kruski, Bethany Martino, Greg McDonough, Andrea Rechner Perrin, Carolyn Skibba, Jennifer Smith, and Billy Spicer. Foreword by Mitchell Brown and Scotty Vrablik.

IDEAs to Transform your Classroom

Julie Ahern, Dr. Marlo Barnett, Anne Marie Chobot, Tricia Fuglestad, Megan Hacholski, John Hayward, Rae Hughart, Traci Johnson, Michael Kosko, Matt Meyer, Dr. Li-Wei Peng, Dr. Jessica Pilgreen, Michelle Thorne, Andrea Trudeau, Douglas van Dyke, and Lauren Wysocke. Foreword by Kyla Naganat.

IDEAs to Connect your Classroom

Michelle Anderson, Steven Baule, Ben Hartman, Michelle Susberry Hill, Jessica Iovinelli, Dr. Matthew X. Joseph, Shannon McGrath, Mitchel Meighen, Jeremy Rinkel, Stephanie Sukow, Derrick Swistak, Yvonne Tretter, Jen Waldvogel, and Drew Witherell. Foreword by Nate Butkus.

©2019 Illinois Digital Educators Alliance. All rights reserved.

Email: info@ideaillinois.org
Call: 630 628 1088

2705 McDonough St
Joliet, Illinois 60436

Translate this page in your preferred language:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software